The Film World in 2021

March 8th, 2021

This is my first post on this blog. I made this blog so that I could practice creating in raw html/css. I have had a ton of fun so far and I'm looking forward to more in the future.

But on to the good stuff.

What the heck is going on with films in 2021?!

The better question is, what went on in 2020? Because that's really where it started.

In 2020, we had everything from missed openings to Tom Cruise yelling at the Film Crew for not adhering to protocols.

So what to make of all of this?

Well, first of all, we know the film world is changing. Streaming services have continued to show strongly at awards shows and we all know that festivals and in-person viewings are, for the most part, not happening.

So what to do?

Well, for me, I have loved getting involved with the Letterboxd community. Letterboxd isn't your average social media nor is it just a review site. It's a little bit of both. Plus, I love that they pull from The Movie Database instead of IMDb, which is owned by the evil Amazon.

I have also been getting into shorts. If you are like me, you have found some weird changes to your attention span. This is OK! I think COVID has had some very far-reaching long-term consequences, some of which we don't yet fully understand. Embrace them the best you can. And if you need help, please please reach out to someone.

OK, that's it for this installment. I will try to post something a few times each month. I feel like I am a little behind the times with just now getting into long-form blogging.

But whatever. I like it.

Cheers!